this is it

today is the day, a day when one season ends and another begins, when old gives way to new, when another unknown journey begins. i sit on my porch, my sanctuary for the last four years, and i’m not really sure how i feel about all this. honestly, i guess i don’t feel that much of anything right now. i’ve been through so many emotions already that i just don’t know how to react at this moment.

the word that keeps coming to mind, though, is ‘thankful‘. i suppose if i feel anything at all, that’s what it is. thankful for four years of growth, of transformation, of stretching, of learning. thankful for each of my kids and how they have enriched my life. thankful for how they’ve taught me to love wilder, deeper, harder than i ever thought possible. thankful for an ever-present, always faithful God who has been with me on every step of this journey. thankful for friends who have seen both the best and the worst of me and loved me just the same. thankful for the chance to live a better story and write out all the parts of it. thankful for hope, for promises, for fresh starts. thankful for each of you who have loved and supported me along the way. thankful for a nation and people who welcomed me with open arms.

i am thankful, deeply thankful, so much that i can’t even put it all into words.

“give thanks to the Lord, for he is good; his love endures forever.” (psalm 107.one)

Leave a Reply

