[rest]

today was supposed to be iFast day. today i was supposed to go to the gym and do a couple errands and pack for my trip on Thursday andandand…

you see, there will always be a lot of “supposed to”s. but this day is different.
because if i still myself long enough, i can hear the quiet whisper that is telling me to simply rest.
don’t strive; don’t do. just rest.
if that means eating some comfort food or  leaving a suitcase unpacked, then that’s what it takes. if it means still being in my pajamas at 2 pm or a full basket of dirty laundry, then so be it.

because i know that voice is His, and His rest is my mandate.

“are you tired? worn out? burned out on religion? come to me. get away with me and you’ll recover your life. i’ll show you to take a real rest. walk with me and work with me–watch how i do it. learn the unforced rhythms of grace. i won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.” (matthew 11:28-30, the message)

so today, this week, seemingly all the time lately, when i feel empty and depleted, i need to learn how to stop for a little while and just rest.
and you know what? it’s hard.
i can feel parts of myself fighting against it. i can hear the voices calling me lazy and selfish, berating me for taking any time for myself.
and yet…i can also feel myself surrendering in the struggle. i submit every weary and resistant part of me to the One who promises to lead me beside still waters and restore my soul.

today, and every day, may we find deep and true rest in Him who satisfies. as we pour ourselves out on behalf of a world that needs a touch from divine Love, may we return our empty hands to He who refills.

amen.

Leave a Reply

