in the desert

o God, you are my God, earnestly i seek you; my soul thirsts for you, my body longs for you, in a dry and weary land where there is no water. (psalm 63.1)

yes. i am thirsty.
yes. i am needy.
yes. i am weary.
yes. i know this ache.
i’ve inhabited this dry and weary land for so, so long.

please don’t let me die in the desert.

open your eyes, child.
see the well.
there IS a well.
drink.

then God opened her eyes and she saw a well of water. (genesis 21.19)

i drink.
and my new eyes begin to focus.
i see.
the desert is not exile.
the desert is not a place for the cast-off, the rejected, the abandoned, the forgotten.
just as He met Hagar here
and she saw the well,
He meets me here, too.

the woman herself escaped to the desert to a place of safety prepared by God. (revelation 12.6)

the desert.
here.
this.
me.
a place of safety.
refuge.
prepared by God.
i am taken care of.
i am held
and gently led to the water,
to the well.

He sees. He knows. He provides. He protects.

i will not die in the desert.

One thought on “in the desert

  1. I had to search for and read this again because it wrecks me every time. I love your words Elana. If we lived fifty years ago I think we’d have been awesome pen-pals. I’ve never seen your face but darn it, I’ve seen your heart and it is beautiful. breathtakingly beautiful.

Leave a Reply

