let the shalom which comes from the Messiah be your heart’s decision-maker. 
(colossians 3:15, cjb)

a friend read this verse at devos this morning, and i’m going to be honest: it wrecked me.
not just because it’s phrased so beautifully that it makes the poet in me ache with word-envy. [even though it is. and it does.]

it wrecked me because it is Truth. and i so often live a lie. 


this little heart of mine has a huge capacity to feel things, and feel them deeply. it has weathered many a storm and is all that much stronger for it. my heart rejoices at beauty and justice, and it recognizes that each moment and every breath is a gift that has been given.

but it is also selfish. and stubborn. it blindly rushes after whatever it wants without a second thought for the carnage it will leave behind for the rest of me to clean up. and i let it. i allow it to do what it wants because…well, it’s easier that way. i feel weak, and i’m not up for a fight. go ahead, heart. have your way.


more often than i care to admit, i let myself  be my heart’s decision maker.
my wants. my needs. my desires. my plans. 

and in the rubble that remains when it all comes crashing down around me, i ignorantly wonder why i’m out of balance. why i have no peace. no shalom.

let the shalom which comes from the Messiah be your heart’s decision-maker. 
Jesus, i want your Truth, even when it wrecks me. even when it hurts. even when it means i have to hold still as you loosen the plank out of my eye. it’s the only way for me to be free. 

Leave a Reply

