you are beautiful

(This is my post that was published on a friend’s blog today. Check out sincerelyrachelchristine.com if you get a chance; there’s some really good stuff on there!)

I am 28 years old, and this year was the first in my entire life that someone called me beautiful.

When I heard those words, I literally wept. Those words were like water for my thirsty soul. For as far back as I can remember, classmates and culture and even people who were supposed to love me have been making me feel not enough.

Maybe you can relate. Maybe you have spent years wondering what’s wrong with you, why you don’t measure up, why people treat you the way that they do.

Sweet girl, please hear me: you are fearfully and wonderfully made. God knew what He was doing when He created you, and He has made every single part of you well. You are a masterpiece, and your so-called flaws only add to your beauty. It was the delight of the Father to knit you together. You are enough, just as you are.

You are a beautiful soul with a beautiful story, and the world needs you because you make it a better place by just being alive. People and circumstances may try to dull your colors; they may try to smudge up the parts of you that were made to sparkle and shine. But nothing that the world throws at you is enough to cover up who you were created to be: a thoroughly beautiful woman created in the hands of a God who is head-over-heels-in-love with you.

And yes, I know that life can be hard sometimes; trust me, I have had my fair share of heartache and pain, of crying myself to sleep at night, of wondering how I was going to even make it out of bed in the morning. You are not alone, and no matter what dark days you are going through, there is beauty and light on the other side. I promise you.

I want you to do something. I want you to take a moment and look at yourself in the mirror. Don’t criticize. Don’t start pointing out everything about yourself that you wish were different. Just look for a moment. The exact shade of your eyes was selected by God, and your eyes, they are beautiful. The shape of your face, the color and texture of your hair: beautiful. The way your lips curve up when they smile, the laugh lines, the wrinkles, the freckles–they’re all beautiful. The curves of your body, the color of your skin: none of these are flaws. None of them are mistakes. They are what make you you; they are what make you unique. They make you beautiful.

Maybe, like me, no one has ever said those things to you before. If so, they may be hard for you to accept. But dear girl, they are true. Psalm 45:11 says that the King is enthralled by your beauty. That means that you, beautiful you, have completely captured His heart.

I don’t know how old you are, and I don’t know how many times you have heard this before. But I’m going to say it again, because it’s something that all of us women need to hear, need to remember, need to write down on the tablets of our hearts:

You are beautiful.

Leave a Reply

