The time has finally come for me to start preparing for my return to Liberia. I just found out today that I have been given a departure date of March 10th, which means I’ll arrive in Monrovia on the 11th. I cannot tell you how overjoyed I am to know that in just nine weeks, I’ll step foot on Liberian soil again. At that point, I will have been gone AN ENTIRE YEAR. A year. I didn’t expect it to be so long. I didn’t expect to ache for Liberia the way I have. It’ll be a year that I didn’t see my kiddos, didn’t hear their laughter or feel their hands holding mine. A year without my Liberian family, my “ma” Mary, my sidekick Momo, my precious friend Piko. Oh, how my heart leaps within me when I think about seeing them again!

Yes, I know it will be difficult. Life in a nation like Liberia always is. Doing the type of work that I do is often draining—physically, emotionally, and even spiritually. But I know that God has used this year to prepare me. To strengthen me. To teach me to live by His daily grace. Will it be hard? Yes. Am I ready? Yes. Let the countdown to Liberia begin!

(And, in other exciting news, I’ll be able to make an eight-day stop on the east coast before heading back to Liberia! I’m scheduled to arrive in Philly on the evening of March 1st, and I plan on spending a few days visiting as many people as I can in that short amount of time. Then, on the 5th or 6th, I’ll be taking a quick road-trip down to Virginia to see my dear friends and spiritual parents. Back up to PA on the 8th, and then I leave out of Newark on the 10th! WHEW. I’m exhausted just thinking about it—but also so. very. excited.

So, if you are in the PA or VA area, and want to hang out during my brief stay at “home”, please let me know as soon as possible. [I have a feeling my schedule is going to fill up quickly!] I’m also looking for someone to pick me up in Philly on the 1st and/or take me to Newark on the 10th. Pretty please?)

Also, if you are interested in perhaps making a financial donation to Orphan Relief and Rescue on my behalf, or signing up to be a monthly supporter, please contact me. I am not able to do the work that I do without amazing people like you behind me, supporting me through finances and prayer.

Much love to each of you, and THANK YOU for joining me on this journey.

xo,
e. 

Leave a Reply

