“you’ve got that far-away look
in your eyes again,”
they told me.

how do i even respond to that?
of course i do.
so many parts of me
are in so many places,
and my mama never taught me
how to stay put for long. 

my soul
wants to root itself
in fields of stability
and some sense of permanency,

but there’s this other piece of me
that knows
nothing ever stays the same.

they see the sadness in my eyes,
and they don’t seem to listen
when i try to explain what it’s like to be here
while always dreaming
of being somewhere else. 

Leave a Reply

