‘Intense.’ As I wrack my brain, seeking some way to describe yesterday, that’s the only word that seems to suffice.

My mom called me at 2 am to tell me that my little sister had miscarried. My heart sank. All day, I cried out in prayer on her behalf, pleading for her comfort, for healing.

Then I found out that eight teenagers (whom I have grown especially close to and fond of) at one of the orphanages we work with are no longer welcome at the home. My mind started racing with questions: Where are they going to go? How can we find a safe place for them, a place where they will be protected and nurtured? Are they going to feel like we’re giving up on them? The burden was heavy on me, and I knew that was because God was putting it strongly on my heart.

Again, all I could do was pray. And then I realized that is exactly what God is asking of me. I believe He’s calling me to deeper prayer, to interceding like I never have before—on behalf of my family, of these kids, of all those that He presses on my heart.

In Ezekiel 22:30, the Lord says that He is looking for one who will “build up the wall and stand in the gap.” I can’t quite explain all that this means yet, but one thing I know for sure is that I am being asked to be one who stands in the gap. Won’t you please stand with me?

Leave a Reply

