Yesterday it actually hit me that my stay here in Liberia is more than half over. There’s been so much going on, so much to take in, so much to think about, so much to reflect upon. I can’t believe that I’ll be boarding a plane on Friday night to go back to … well, I don’t really know what I’m going back to, actually. It feels like I just got here, like I just got “settled” (for lack of a better word) and now that’s all changing – again. 

Don’t get me wrong; the past week and a half has nothing short of incredible. I’ve laughed, cried, learned, grown, shared, cared, loved. My eyes were opened to things I had never seen in a way I‘d never seen them. My ears were opened to hear God in a way unlike I’ve ever heard Him before. My heart was opened to believe in the possibilities of what I would have always thought to be impossible. In only eleven days, God has turned me upside down & inside out, and I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that things will never be the same.

When I leave here on Friday, I will be taking a little piece of Liberia with me: a little boy named Beyan, gratitude for even the smallest things, seeing God’s goodness in each and every moment, the unique ability to love something while having it break your heart at the same time, the gift of new friendships, the gift of reconnecting an old one, dozens of mosquito bites, experiencing the things that make God’s heart cry, the sweltering heat, embracing a child and wanting to cling to him forever, the hope for a better tomorrow and learning what it feels like to rest, really rest, in the one who already holds my tomorrow in His hand.

I can only hope that I am able to leave a little piece of myself here in its place.

Leave a Reply

